making local government more ethical

You are here


The Indiana State Ethics Commission is made up of five commissioners that are appointed by the Governor and five staff members. The Commission conducts investigations of ethics violations by state employees, provides classroom and online ethics training and renders formal and informal ethics opinions for state employees in accordance with the Indiana Code of Ethics. There is a separate legislative ethics code.

COGEL Members:

Jeff Gill
Executive Director
Executive Branch Lobbying
Indiana Department of Administration
402 W. Washington St., Rm 479
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 234-4431
E-mail: [email protected]

Ed Charbonneau
Executive Director
Northwest Indiana Local Government Academy
Gary, IN 46408
Telephone: (219) 981-5623
Email: [email protected]

Sandy Barger
Indiana Public Access Counselor's Office
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Telephone: (317) 233-9435
Email: [email protected]

Carol Kirk
Indianapolis, IN 46260
Telephone: (317) 255-3244
Email: [email protected]

David Maidenberg
Indianapolis, IN 46290
Telephone: (317) 251-9362
Email: [email protected]

Ed Feigenbaum
Noblesville, IN 46061
Telephone: (317) 817-9997
Email: [email protected]

Largest City:

The city of Indianapolis Board of Ethics is composed of 5 members, 3 of which are appointed by the Mayor and the remaining two are appointed by the City Council to enforce the city's Code of Ethics.

Largest County:

Marion County
Ethical concerns for Marion County are handled by the Indianapolis Board of Ethics.

Story Topics: